Post installation script returned error

Ubuntu Add/remove and synaptic very rarely panic your system because of broken dependencies. It happens mostly because of using third party packages or install a package using “force” options. Some time you can’t remove your broken package with synaptic. It shows an Error like


dpkg return error :post installation script

or

dpkg return error : post installation script return an error

or

Subprocess post-installation script returned error


This tweak is very handy in such situations. it is very simple

1. press Alt + F2 and type “gksu nautilus” (without quatos)

2. Type password …it open super user enabled nautilus

3. go to /var/lib/dpkg/info in nautilus

4. Delete all files related your broken package (if your broken package is cgmail delete all package related to cgmail)

5. done ….. open synaptic now and remove broken package

NB : before deleting any system file just backup it.


Bookmark and Share

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………


5 Responses to “Post installation script returned error”

  1. Very nice, thanks for the tip! I ran into this problem while downgrading bluez-utils from bluez version 0.4.x to 0.3.x on a Debian installation.

  2. My family all the time say that I am killing my time here at
    web, except I know I am getting know-how all the time by reading thes pleasant content.

  3. Very good article. I definitely love this site. Keep it up!

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other
    than that, this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read.

    I’ll definitely be back.

  5. Hello there, I do think your web site could be having web browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening
    in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a
    quick heads up! Apart from that, fantastic site!

Leave a Reply

